World Stroke Organization Presidents Steve Davis (2014-2016), Wener Hacke (2016-2018) and Michael Brainin (2018-2020)
World Stroke Organization Presidents Steve Davis (2014-2016), Wener Hacke (2016-2018) and Michael Brainin (2018-2020)

World Stroke Organization announces new leadership for 2016-18 and 2018-2020

World Stroke Organization will get its new president in Werner Hacke, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurology, University of Heidelberg, Germany from October 2016 to 2018 as post outgoing President Steve Davis will handover the baton to him. World Stroke organization is observing the 10th global world stroke day in Hyderabad (INDIA).

Having keen interest in cerebrovascular disorders and critical care neurology,  Hacke has authored more than 300 papers and co-authored Neurologie (the leading German textbook of neurology). He has been honoured with various prestigious awards, is a member of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences, the board of directors of the German Stroke Society, the Board of Trustees of the World Federation of Neurology, and the World Stroke Federation. He was chair of the scientific Committee of the World Stroke Conference (2008), and is President of the European Stroke Organization.

After his tenure as the President, it will be taken over by Michael Brainin.

Professor Michael Brainin is a Fellow of the European Stroke Organization and International Fellow of the American Stroke Association. He received several awards, such as the Marinescu Award 2015 from the Romanian Society of Neurology and Honorary Doctorates from Hanoi University, Vietnam, and from the University of Cluj, Romania, an honorary professorship from Zhengzhou University. He is also an active member of the Indian Stroke Society along with French Neurological Society, Hungarian Stroke Society.



Leave a Reply


Check Also

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi on January 5, 2015 had launched the world's largest and most extensive LED distribution programme, UJALA (Unnat Jyoti by Affordable Lighting for All)

India’s zero subsidy ‘Ujala’ initiative to help save power and environment in Melaka@ Malaysia

Indian model of UJALA scheme has become a sought-after example for the different nations of ...

error: Content is protected !!